Skip to content

Technology and money in plain English · Since 2012

Facebook
News

Facebook has increased account deletion grace period to 30 days

Facebook has increased account deletion grace period to 30 days

Facebook really doesn’t want you to permanently delete you account with them. The company is now going to give you some extra time, if you have a change of heart on your account.

The social network’s spokesperson confirmed to The Verge that the company has expanded its account deletion grace period from 14 days to 30 days. This will give you an entire month to bring your Facebook account back to life, should you choose to.

Per Facebook, their users have tried to log back into deleted accounts past the previous 14 days grace period. Now that the company has increased the grace period to 30 days, it allows users to make a “fully informed choice,” according to the spokesperson.

While Facebook giving you up to 30 days offers some flexibility, the real reason appears to be: the longer you have to reactivate your account, the more likely you are to come back onto the platform. For example, if you deleted your account with Facebook over your rage on how they handle privacy concerns, then you have up to 30 days to reactivate your account. You’ll now have to wait up to 30 days for your account to be fully deleted. The question remains though: is your account truly ever deleted from Facebook?

See something that needs fixing? Report an error

Get The Jolt Journal in your inbox

The day’s top stories in tech, finance and AI, picked by our editors. Free.

Choose your newsletters

Up next

Keep reading

Add The Jolt Journal as a preferred source on Google

Add The Jolt Journal to your Home Screen to get alerts

Most Popular

More in Facebook

See all

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Breaking-news alerts

We’ll send a notification to this device when a big story breaks. Choose what you want, then allow notifications when your browser asks. You can change this or turn alerts off any time.

Send me