Skip to content
Mobile
News

Snapchat may let third-party apps connect to your account

Snapchat may let third-party apps connect to your account

We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this page. It doesn't change what we recommend.

Recently, Mashable discovered that in the latest beta version of Snapchat, there was a new feature called ‘Connected Apps.’ There wasn’t anything displaying, but the placeholder text said “These apps are Connect to your Snapchat account. Choose an app to control what it has access to.” Basically, what this means is that Snapchat could let third-party software connect to your account and harness your data.

At this point, this feature seems to just be in testing and could possibly not even be released. We don’t know how much data Snap would allow third parties access. A Snap spokesperson said that the company doesn’t share user-identifiable information with advertisers and does not offer a service that’s similar to Facebook’s Graph API nor share friend network information with third parties. This is basically what happened in the Cambridge Analytica controversy.

Mashable points out that currently, Snapchat only allows users to connect their accounts to two external services: Bitmoji and Shazam. At this time, users can’t connect their Snapchat accounts to anything but those two. Though it’s worth mentioning that Snap has learned a lot from paying close attention to Facebook’s situation of Cambridge Analytica and privacy.

See something that needs fixing? Report an error

Get The Jolt Journal in your inbox

The day’s top stories in tech, finance and AI, picked by our editors. Free.

Choose your newsletters

Up next

Keep reading

Add The Jolt Journal as a preferred source on Google

Add The Jolt Journal to your Home Screen to get alerts

Most Popular

More in Mobile

See all

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Breaking-news alerts

We’ll send a notification to this device when a big story breaks. Choose what you want, then allow notifications when your browser asks. You can change this or turn alerts off any time.

Send me