Skip to content

Technology and money in plain English · Since 2012

Facebook
News

Facebook’s new plan: allow everyone to ‘unsend’ messages

Facebook’s new plan: allow everyone to ‘unsend’ messages

Facebook is under a lot of pressure for proving that it can protect users’ data and be transparent with how it’s shared. Evidence emerged yesterday that the company has been quietly deleting messages Mark Zuckerberg and other executives sent to recipients inboxes. We didn’t know what to make of it at first because it could be seen from different angles, but Facebook recently fessed up to TechCrunch that they have been doing this for a while.

The company has promised to extend that feature to users in the coming months. This new ‘unsend’ feature hasn’t been finalized on how it will exactly work, according to TechCrunch, but one possible solution is that a timer can be set by the sender, and once the timer runs out, the message will disappear from both inboxes.

At this time, Facebook didn’t clarify if it will use this method or a different one, or if the recipients will be notified when a message is ‘unsent.’ What we do know is that this feature could be arriving in the coming months.

See something that needs fixing? Report an error

Get The Jolt Journal in your inbox

The day’s top stories in tech, finance and AI, picked by our editors. Free.

Choose your newsletters

Up next

Keep reading

Add The Jolt Journal as a preferred source on Google

Add The Jolt Journal to your Home Screen to get alerts

Most Popular

More in Facebook

See all

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Breaking-news alerts

We’ll send a notification to this device when a big story breaks. Choose what you want, then allow notifications when your browser asks. You can change this or turn alerts off any time.

Send me