CompaniesFacebookInternetTech

Facebook has increased account deletion grace period to 30 days

Facebook really doesn’t want you to permanently delete you account with them. The company is now going to give you some extra time, if you have a change of heart on your account.

The social network’s spokesperson confirmed to The Verge that the company has expanded its account deletion grace period from 14 days to 30 days. This will give you an entire month to bring your Facebook account back to life, should you choose to.

Per Facebook, their users have tried to log back into deleted accounts past the previous 14 days grace period. Now that the company has increased the grace period to 30 days, it allows users to make a “fully informed choice,” according to the spokesperson.

While Facebook giving you up to 30 days offers some flexibility, the real reason appears to be: the longer you have to reactivate your account, the more likely you are to come back onto the platform. For example, if you deleted your account with Facebook over your rage on how they handle privacy concerns, then you have up to 30 days to reactivate your account. You’ll now have to wait up to 30 days for your account to be fully deleted. The question remains though: is your account truly ever deleted from Facebook?

Source
The Verge
Tags
Show More

Hamza Khalid

The Jolt Journal is your source for daily tech news, breaking, reviews, and insights.

Related Articles

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
%d bloggers like this: