Have you ever sent a message by accident that you wish you could revoke and delete? Well, if you’re a WhatsApp user, the messaging app will now let you do just that. WhatsApp added a new ability to delete and revoke messages after you’ve send them.
WhatsApp extensively tested this feature for most of 2017 and has now made it available to users. You will now be able to delete messages up to seven minutes after you sent them. This applies to both conversations or group chats.
A new WhatsApp support article, spotted by The Next Web, gives us some insight. The support article tells us that both sender and receiver will need the latest WhatsApp version in order for this feature to work. To be able to delete messages, you will get a new option after you delete delete, allowing you to “delete for everyone” instead of just from your own device.
The feature is still rolling out for everyone. It’s not fully live just yet. WhatsApp warns that “recipients may see your message before it’s delete or if deletion was not successful.” So this means, there is no full guarantee.
Regardless, this is a good feature for WhatsApp users. If you’ve sent messages by accidents or just want to delete those alcohol-induced messages, you now have an opportunity. Just remember that this feature give you the ability to delete messages, not giving you a guarantee that it will delete them. WhatsApp will not notify you if your message fails to delete.