F

Facebook’s new plan: allow everyone to ‘unsend’ messages

Facebook’s new plan: allow everyone to ‘unsend’ messages

Facebook is under a lot of pressure for proving that it can protect users’ data and be transparent with how it’s shared. Evidence emerged yesterday that the company has been quietly deleting messages Mark Zuckerberg and other executives sent to recipients inboxes. We didn’t know what to make of it at first because it could be seen from different angles, but Facebook recently fessed up to TechCrunch that they have been doing this for a while.

The company has promised to extend that feature to users in the coming months. This new ‘unsend’ feature hasn’t been finalized on how it will exactly work, according to TechCrunch, but one possible solution is that a timer can be set by the sender, and once the timer runs out, the message will disappear from both inboxes.

At this time, Facebook didn’t clarify if it will use this method or a different one, or if the recipients will be notified when a message is ‘unsent.’ What we do know is that this feature could be arriving in the coming months.

Hamza Khalid

Hamza Khalid is the Lead Editor at The Jolt Journal. You're more than welcome to follow him on Twitter and follow The Jolt Journal on Twitter and Facebook. If you have any questions, concerns, or need to report something in this article, please send our team an email at [email protected] This story may be updated at any time if new information surfaces.

At The Jolt Journal, no one tells us what to write or how to write it. This is why, in the era of lies and bias, readers turn to an independent source. Rest assured, all information on our website is free of any bias or influence. If you see anything wrong with a story, please don't hesitate to reach out. We do our very best to report on the latest available information.

Leave a Reply